Feb 27, 2020

Matangi Mustangs Crowned 2020 Waikato Men’s Club League Champions

Matangi Hillcrest topped off an incredible first season in the Waikato Senior Men’s Club League to be crowned overall champions for 2020 after winning the finals against strong opponents Suburbs by 11 goals to 1.

Matangi Mustangs had come into the finals as firm favourites, having dropped only one match out of 8 over the entire season. But they were short of recent game-play after two byes in the immediate lead-up to the finals. All the teams had improved over the season. Everyone was anticipating a tight match.

After the game, Matangi Hillcrest President Aaron Parker was thrilled with the result but said the team was fully expecting Suburbs to pull away after half time and for the match to go to golden goal. Tight tactics and patience from the Mustangs paid off in the end to deliver the definitive win.

Parker gave particular credit to the young players on the team who “really stepped up” in the finals, including Ben Cowen, Max Mills, Kyle Parker and Turanga Perry, young players to note for the future. Kyle was later awarded the Mustangs Player of the Match. Older players also deserve a mention! Greg New, the Mustang goalie, had a blinder letting only one ball past him into the net.

At the prize-giving, the Matangi Coach Kris Nebeskӯ said “Thank you to Suburbs for putting on a fantastic final. It was some of the best lacrosse we have seen coming out of the Waikato in a very long time. And now this is over we can really start to focus into Nationals, which I think is going to be a bit of a shock to those other teams!”

In the play-off for 3rd place, old rivals Leamington and Te Awamutu Marist had a close match with Leamington taking the win by a single goal. The two teams had been tightly matched all season, winning one game apiece during the earlier play-offs.

Thanks to Te Awamutu Marist who put on a great event at Castleton Park. They deservedly had a great turnout of people enjoying the action on pitch as well as the music, bar and food. Thanks also to those who put in many dedicated hours and made the 2020 Men’s Club League 2020 a success ‒ Will Chilsholm League Coordinator, referees, teams, coaches and support crews.

Final words go to Anthony Warrington from Leamington who summarised the season so well “I think the League has done really well … since we started 7 years ago where we literally just had 4 teams that were a mix-up of players from all over the Waikato. From us to go from that to this is just a massive improvement and something we can be proud of!”


Men’s Club League Final Results 2020

1st Matangi Hillcrest Lacrosse

2nd Suburbs Community Sports

3rd Leamington Rugby Sports

4th Te Awamutu Marist

5th Hamilton Devils Lacrosse


Photo: Matangi Mustangs Senior Men’s Club League Champions 2020

Photo credit: Lou Kibby Photography

Facebook Likes