Dec 9, 2019

Waikato Lacrosse Intermediate School League Just Keeps Growing

The steady growth of Waikato Lacrosse Intermediate School League shows no signs of slowing since it was first started 4 years ago.

This year, a total of 25 teams from 10 different schools took part, up from 21 teams from 8 schools in 2018. The two new schools to this year’s League are Matamata and Hautapu.

The growth in the Intermediate School League has a direct flow-on effect to the Waikato Lacrosse High School League as well Waikato U15 and U18 representative teams.

After an intense 7-week season, the 2019 League drew to a close at the weekend (Saturday 7th December) in a blaze of sunshine at Tamahere Park and with a great turnout from parents, friends and supporters.

In the Girls A Division, the final ranking was so close in the 7-team round-robin competition that it had to be decided by a for-and-against goal count back. The CMS Buzzards emerged as the overall winners after a consistent season, with St Peters Red in second place. Te Awamutu Intermediate A completed in third place.

In the Girls B Division, the CMS Hawks won the Group A finals by a narrow 1-goal margin over Matamata in a tight final show-down. And in Group B, the Southwell Magpies defeated the CMS Falcons by 15 goals to 5 in the finals to take the win.

In the Boys Division, Morrinsville Gold had a decisive win against the CMS Condors in the finals by 13 goals to 1. Te Awamutu Intermediate won the play-off for third place against the CMS Harriers.

Huge thanks to our League Coordinators – Georgia Clarkin-Rush and Will Chisholm – who make our Leagues happen, to our umpires and referees, coaches, team managers, and of course the parents and supporters who turned out in force to enjoy the play.


Final Results

Girls A Division: 1st CMS Buzzards (photo); 2nd St Peters Red; 3rd Te Awamutu Intermediate A

Girls B Division (Group A): 1st CMS Hawks; 2nd Matamata; 3rd Peachgrove Flyers

Girls B Division (Group B): 1st Southwell Magpies; 2nd CMS Falcons; 3rd CMS Eagles

Boys Division: 1st Morrinsville Gold (photo); 2nd CMS Condors; 3rd Te Awamutu Intermediate

Photo credit: Lou Kibby Photography and Cambridge Middle School



Facebook Likes